2011 Triathlon Season is Set

17 Dec

The first half of my Triathlon Training plan for the 2011 season is officially done. Since my speed increase over the season (at least that’s the goal) I typically hold off on completing the details of the Build and Peak phases until I’m about halfway through my third Base phase. That said, Base 1, 2, and 3 are done and uploaded in the triathlon training schedule section. If you’re interested you can take a peak.

Of course, before I was able to work on those details I had to map out my 2011 race schedule. As you know, that’s the “fun” part of all of this; figuring out what races to enter, scheduling test races and all that stuff. For me it basically boils down to this: The Philadelphia Triathlon will be my first “A” race of the season. I actually wanted to do the Spring Washington DC race the weekend before, but my wife had an issue with sharing our daughter’s birthday with a triathlon, so Philadelphia it is. The month before, though, will be my first major trace; the Columbia Triathlon in Maryland. Because it’s so early in the season and it will be tough to get in any open-water swimming before the race I’m making it a “B” race, so I won’t be doing too much tapering before the race.

Both those races are Olympic distance triathlons. By the end of the season the goal is to bump up to the 70.3 distance. In September I’ll be doing the Savageman tri in Deep Creek, Maryland and then ending the season with the inaugural Iron Man Pocono Mountains 70.3 here in PA. Throughout the season there will be a few sprint and low priority Olympic distance triathlons, as well as a number of local 5K’s to use as run tests. The cool thing about the 5K’s is that my wife will be participating with me in a number of them. It’s nice to finally be able to share the fun!

The other major highlight for the coming season in the Warrior Dash in Jim Thorpe, PA. It’s a 3.5 mile Adventure Race in North East, PA. My wife and brother-in-law already committed to entering it with me. Now I’m just trying to round up some people at work to make a huge party out of it.

Overall, 2011 looks like it’s going to be a lot of fun!

Leave a comment